Wednesday, April 18, 2007

Excellence Awards for Model United Nations Teams

In its first year, the HSU Department of Government and Politics’ Model United Nations program garnered three Meritorious Delegation awards at the 2007 Model United Nations of the Far West conference in San Francisco last weekend. The Meritorious Delegation Award recognizes academic excellence in preparation and participation at the conference. The three awards earned by HSU placed it in the conference’s top three performers.

In the five day conference, students represented four countries: Belgium, Costa Rica, South Africa, and Thailand. They debated contemporary international policies and politics with more than 40 schools and 450 delegates from the Western United States, the Philippines, Russia, and Canada.

Students participating in the Model UN program were: Michael Echeveste, Sebastian Ligeti, Michael Mariscal, Patrick Sullivan, and Patricia Whelan (representing Belgium), Carol Hurley, Erika Madison, Nick Raisch, Jason Robo, and Desiree Woods (representing Costa Rica), Lladira Baez, Skye Frison, Morrissa Hudson, Dominic Lether, Greg Paoli, and Tobin Steiskal (representing South Africa), Kristine Crow, Jed D’Abravnel, Elaine Hogan, Margot Hottmann, Paul Moss, and Red Rochte (representing Thailand). Participation in the conference was organized through Professor Noah Zerbe’s Model United Nations course, which will be offered again in spring, 2008.

For more information, please contact Noah Zerbe at 707-826-3911 or

No comments: